February 20, 2018

Curtain Club Grants 5 Cicely Thompson scholarships!

The Curtain Club is pleased to announce that the organization will be awarding five $500 scholarships to local York Region students who are planning to continue their post secondary education in the arts. The five recipients of this year's Curtain Club Scholarship in Memory of Cicely Thomson are Anna Lee Dimpfel and Casey Spector (Alexander Mackenzie Secondary School); Nicole Hayward and Sara Hayward (King City Secondary School); and Julia Dietrich (Villanova College School). The scholarship is offered yearly to a student who has demonstrated a high level of academic achievement while also making a positive contribution to their school, especially in the arts, and have committed time and energy to community service programmes. The Curtain Club had not received any submissions for this scholarship for the last few years and was excited, finally, to be able to reward all five applicants for their stellar achievements while attending their secondary schools.

The scholarship was instituted by The Curtain Club to honour founding member, Cicely Thomson, whose dedication to the organization helped build it into one of the leading community theatres in Ontario celebrating sixty-four years of bringing "quality theatre at an affordable price" to the residents of Richmond Hill.

Garry Sugden, Public Relations
Box Office: 905-773- 3434